Faith No More


Faith No MoreFaith No More is an American rock band from San Francisco, California, formed in 1979. Before settling on their current moniker in 1983, the band performed under the names Sharp Young Men and later Faith No Man. Bassist Billy Gould, keyboardist Roddy Bottum and drummer Mike Bordin are the longest remaining members of the band, having been involved with Faith No More since its inception. The band underwent several lineup changes early in their career, along with some major changes later on. The current lineup of Faith No More consists of Gould, Bottum, Bordin, guitarist Jon Hudson, and vocalist Mike Patton.

After releasing six albums, Faith No More officially announced their breakup on April 20, 1998. They have since reunited, embarked on The Second Coming Tour from 2009–2012, and released their seventh studio album, Sol Invictus, in May 2015.

While Faith No More’s music is generally labeled as alternative metal, experimental rock, and funk metal, the band’s first single, “Quiet in Heaven/Song of Liberty”, was a “solid post-punk/pre-goth single.” The band is well known for combining elements of heavy metal with funk, hip hop, progressive rock, alternative rock, hardcore punk, polka, easy listening, jazz, samba, bossa nova, hard rock, pop, soul, gospel, and lounge music.

Leave a Reply